Landing Forums Leadership Default Aggressive Reply To: Default Aggressive

• Stephanie Avallone

June 30, 2020 at 1:34 pm

<div>

Hello Debra – I’ve both enjoyed and learned from your questions that have been discussed on the Q&A Zoom sessions. It sounds like you have great ideas and work in play to achieve your results. I used to work in healthcare and we found the patient safety goals to be some of the hardest to set. We also found them to be the goals with the strongest emotional reactions. Everyone was always on board for patient safety, but the goals made some clinicians (physicians, advanced practitioners, nurses, MAs, pharmacists) feel exposed for the pressure of what could be out of their control, including being human.

We did a few things that at the time I did not agree with. I found the approach to be less than “fierce”, especially for something that impacted the health and safety of people. By nature, I fall into a default aggressive bucket. From a culture perspective, my organization (large research Universtiy with a large medical system) does not, especially on things that feel like “oversight” or “judgement”. Honing our approach was the best thing we could have done – the results were amazing. As I look back, my leader at the time was helping our team to not fight the tactical battle over the goal at the expense of the strategy for sustainable patient safety. Some things that we did overall that helped set the tone to for engagement and ultimately decentralized command: